Why the iPad is no longer worth it

Nice hardware is just not enough

iTablet
4 min readMar 28, 2024

For many years I’ve tried to make the iPad Pro my primary computing device. I bought almost every iPad Apple released. I tried every version of iPadOS and jumped through every software hoop and limitation Apple could impose on me to try and experience the future of computing.

And after all these years, I have failed to find a way to use the iPad Pro that is as useful, capable and easy to use as the MacBook Air.

It is hard for me to get excited about the iPad these days. The iPad and iPadOS feel like they’ve entered a kind of zombie, limbo land where Apple does not seem interested or excited about making meaningful changes. Just like with the Mac, Apple seems to have lost sight of what iPad fans want from the device and what they want to do with it.

Subscribe to iTablet on YouTube

Apple is set to release new iPad hardware soon, and the rumours suggest that this version of the iPad will finally be the MacBook replacement we’ve all been hoping for.

Really? This is the year Apple will magically change their mind about the iPad and make a device that is equal to the MacBook in functionality and performance?

--

--